Friday, February 25, 2011

Glasgow Coma Scale...

Glasgow Coma Scale or GCS is a neurological scale that aims to give a reliable, objective way of recording the conscious state of a person for initial as well as subsequent assessment. A patient is assessed against the criteria of the scale, and the resulting points give a patient score between 3 (indicating deep unconsciousness) and 15 (the more widely used modified or revised scale)

Best eye opening
4) Spontaneously
3) Voice
2) To pain
1) Not at all

Best verbal response
5) Converses, oriented
4) Converses, disoriented
3) Inappropriate words
2) Incomprehensible wordo
1) Not at all

Best motor response
6) Obeys, follows motor commands
5) Localizes, clearly push painful stimuli away
4) Withdraws (flexion), only withdraws arms or legs to painful stimuli
3) Abnormal  flexion (decorticate),   flexion of arms with extension of legs to stimuli   
2) Abnormal extension (decerebrate), extension of all extremities to painful stimuli
1) Flaccid, no response to painful stimuli

No comments:

Post a Comment